top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnyBritt

Q+A with My Mom

Updated: Nov 6, 2019

So this time I decided to do something a little different and decided to interview my mom so these are her responses to some questions about raising her millions of kids.



How did you survive taking care of six kids?

You just do because you have to

You need an outlet you can’t just stay home with kids all the time. When you (that’s me) were two I found exercise and that saved my sanity.

But mostly you just do it.


How do people react when you tell them about having a million kids/what do you think of that?

They are shocked and also are like wow you’re so little. How could you have so many children?!

I am proud of it. It’s like my claim to fame.


What’s your first thought when you think of each kid?

Christopher was a terrorist. He was terrible. Always into everything. He and Jess were both literalists and would take things literally. Maybe it was because they were too smart so they’d find ways around the rules.


Jess was a very challenging child and was always trying to outdo her brother.


For Bronwyn we learned to not have the kids in competition like the other two so she didn’t have that problem. Bronwyn was a mommy only child. She hated everybody when she was a baby except for Uncle Jeff. I don't know why, but for some reason he was special.


Joshy was the rotundo baby. He was the happiest of all because when he was little he was so big that he was content at everything. He was a really mild child, and a big chunky boy too so that might be part of it because he was so healthy.


Dustin and Brittany were born really early. A month early and they were jaundice and were sickly. Brittany had the first appointment for the doctor that was failure to thrive. Then Dustin went in the hospital with a fever at a few days old, and we were all sick when you were born. It was the worst start to life ever. The hardest was your early years but when you were able to do things a year old and on you guys were so cute because you shared everything. You had your own best friend. And you got in trouble. You got held back in kindergarten because you were a little bit behind developmentally because you had been like one person for so long.

What is the dumbest thing one of your kids has done?

Dustin’s “talent” which was making honking noises with his nose.



Given how we were as children, what jobs did you imagine us having/being good at?

I never really had any predictions about what you would be but I’m happy with how you’ve all turned out.


Actually, I have a prediction for you (Me) that your gonna be a cat lady and have books all around your house and just be a hermit cat lady and then your brother will move in with you and you and Dustin will just be hermits together.

That’s my fear not really what I think though.




What made you feel like the best/worst mom?

Seeing all my kids growing up makes me proud with what they have done with their lives and seeing you together makes me happy.


When you were little I hated going to church because you guys could not sit still and I felt like, Why are my kids so terrible in church climbing all over things and other peoples' can just sit there? And it’s just not fun.


I loved going to parent teacher conferences when they said, “Oh everything’s good” and I had lots of those and some of the not so good, but that’s the good thing about having so many kids is you get both the good and the bad.



What were some punishments you would dish out and for what reasons/ anything particularly memorable?

We used to spank in the beginning and we used to count to 10 which we found out was waaaaay too long. Part of it was we were tired and didn’t want to get up. So that’s why we counted so long we didn’t want to get up and deal with it. So starting out it was 10 seconds and then you were gonna get a spanking for not doing what you were told.


The first kids, so Chris and Jess, were the first pancakes. You know the ones that were greasy and you throw away and then you have the good pancakes later. Those were the kids we didn’t know what we were doing. You know we were really young when we first started having kids. I was only 21 when Chris was born. You know you sorta just model off of what you see from your own parents but we realized it wasn’t working.


Then we would do time outs.


For a little while we tried using charts where you do your good deeds and chores and things and get rewards.


But when you have twins everything goes out the window...


I think it is important to have chores for children and responsibility where they think its their house too and you’re not just being waited on like we would have dish nights even when you were just really little like 5.


How would you describe your parenting style?

I think I was a pretty easy-going mother and that I probably let you get away with too much. I’m a little bit of a push over. A little lax. As long as you’re doing what you’re supposed to things were good.





I think the moral this time is just that my momma is a saint for how she took care of so many kids even though she’s pretty crazy now, perhaps unsurprisingly, but it’s okay because it’s the good kind of crazy. Also that I am clearly the best pancake because you save the best for last.


P.S. Thanks Mom for all the things!

14 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page